Roe, Ellison to face off in November

With the votes tallied, there will be no need for a runoff in the county’s top spot this year. Incumbant County Judge Jan Roe (DEM) finished with 61.13% (1,184) of the vote over Bobby Jeff Nickelson (DEM) with 38.87% (753). County Judge hopeful Charles Ellison (REP) secured 61.90% (780) over Mark Burrow (REP) with 38.10% (480). Roe and Ellison will now begin working on campaign strategy for the general election in November 2014.
Justice of the Peace Precint 3 will see a runoff between Melanie Green (REP) with 48.23% (252) against Ray Mathews (REP with 22.46% (117). A candidate needed 51% of the vote to avoid the runoff election this May. The winner will face Jana Foreman (DEM) who ran unoposed in this primary election.
Running unopposed for County Commissioner Pct. 2, incumbant Donald Threadgill (DEM) garnered 100% of the vote with 222 votes casts.
The runoff election in May will determine the precint 4 commissioner. James Taylor (DEM) secured 44.23% (360) for the victory, but not enough to claim the seat. Tayor will faceoff with incumbant Robert Bielamowicz who recorded 37.59% (306) to keep the race alive.
Incumbant Keith Folterman (DEM) will keep the position of Justice of the Peact Pct. 1. Folterman with 56.88% (310) moved past hopeful Carla Barker (DEM) 43.12% (235).
Statewide Election Results
U.S. Senator
Incumbant John Cornyn (REP) secured his place on the ballot and will have to wait for the May runoff election to meet his opponet. David Alameel (DEM) secured 48.60% and Kesha Rogers held on with 21.03% to force the runoff.
U.S Rep Dist. 17
While neither party was contested, Bill Flores (REP) will face Nick Haynes (DEM) in November.
Without Governor Rick Perry on the ballot, Gregg Abbott (REP) won with a large margin of 91.50% which locks up his November ballot position. His opponet will be Wendy Davis (DEM) who landslided her race with 78.73% of the vote.
Lt. Governor
While incumbant David Dewhurst (REP) was thought to have this election, surprising conservative Dan Patrick (REP) brought home the victory forcing a runoff in May. Running unopposed, Leticia Van de Putte (DEM) secured her ballot position for November.
Attorney General
Again the Republican Party will face a runoff in May between Dan Paxton (REP) and Dan Branch. Sam Houston (DEM) ran unopposed.
For complete statewide results you can point your internet browser to:

Dennis Phillips / Publisher / Robertson County News

Rate this article: 
No votes yet